Toggle menu

Scottish Youth Parliament

The Scottish Youth Parliament is the national youth led organisation with democratically elected members.

Scottish Youth Parliament Icon

Its purpose is to listen to the issues that are important to young people and provide a national platform to discuss and campaign these issues so that they are heard by decision-makers.

They do this by:

  • Being part of national campaigns and projects
  • Influencing policy and decision making

In Dumfries and Galloway, all four MSYPs are automatically elected to represent young people on the Regional Youth Council. Hannah Birse is responsible for Wigtownshire, Finlay Johnston for Stewartry, Halime Yildiz and Cameron Greer are jointly responsible for Annandale & Eskdale and Nithsdale. Your MSYP works alongside the Youth Councillors for the area to find out what's working and what's not and uses your views to vote at the Scottish Youth Parliament Sittings that take place 3 times per year. 

You can register your interest in becoming the next Member of the Scottish Youth Parliament here.