Dumfries and Galloway Youth Council

Dumfries & Galloway's Regional Youth Council is a group of 35 members who want to make change and get young peoples voices heard across the region.

Regional Youth Council Icon

Dumfries & Galloway Youth Council Elections 2021-2023

The D&G Youth Elections took place from Monday 8th - Sunday 21st November 2021. On Monday 22nd November, the Election Results Event took place and the following young people were duly elected: 

Dumfriesshire Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament 

  • Ellie McConnachie
  • Cameron Greer

Galloway & West Dumfries Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament

  • Finlay Anderson
  • Alasdair Marshall

Stranraer & the Rhins Ward Youth Councillors

  • Cloe Allison
  • Jack Moore

Mid Galloway & Wigtown West Ward Youth Councillors 

  • Elli Wadsworth 
  • Jasper Williams

Dee & Glenkens Ward Youth Councillors

  • Lewis Young
  • Elizabeth Stevenson

Castle Douglas & Crocketford Ward Youth Councillors

  • Anya McCreadie
  • Andrew Sinden

Abbey Ward Youth Councillors 

  • Edward Christie
  • Niko Colligan

North West Dumfries Ward Youth Councillors

  • Katie Cooney
  • Destinee Houston

Mid & Upper Nithsdale Ward Youth Councillors

  • Grace Bryden-Brown
  • Murrie Thomson

Lochar Ward Youth Councillors

  • Riley True
  • Briony Thomson

Nith Ward Youth Councillors

  • Thomas Paine
  • Lucy Waugh

Annandale South Ward Youth Councillors

  • Eva Szeller
  • Megan Nelson

Annandale North Ward Youth Councillors

  • Campbell More
  • Logan Teasdale

Annandale East & Eskdale Ward Youth Councillors

  • Kenzie Miller
  • Connor Taylor

Young Carer Youth Councillor

  • Orlicia Kennedy-Moffat

Ethnic Minority Youth Councillor 

  • May Tang

LGBT Youth Councillor

  • Theo Darkerica

ASN & Disabilities Youth Councillor

  • Lewis Johnston

Care Experienced Youth Councillor

  • Sophie Wilson



What They Do

Youth Councillors and Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament are responsible for advocating on behalf of young people to local (Elected Members) and national (MPs and MSPs) decision makers to ensure that young people's voice are heard and acted upon.  

The Youth Council will be meeting regularly from January and you can submit your ideas here.


Scottish Youth Parliament

The Scottish Youth Parliament is the nationally recognised voice of Scotland's young people aged 12-25. There are over 160 MSYPs from every area in Scotland and a number of MSYPs who represent National Voluntary Organisations such as LGBT Youth Scotland, Scouts, Scripture Union, and Who Cares? Scotland. For every constituency MSP, there are 2 MSYPs and in Dumfries and Galloway we have 2 constituency areas: 

  • Dumfriesshire - this covers the east of the region including parts of Nithsdale (Dumfries, Sanquhar, Kirkconnel, Kelloholm, Thornhill) and Annandale and Eskdale (Annan, Moffat, Lockerbie, Langholm and Gretna)
  • Galloway and West Dumfries - this covers the west of the region including Stewartry (Kirkcudbright, Castle Douglas, Dalbeattie, Gatehouse of Fleet and Dalry), and Wigtownshire (Newton Stewart, Stranraer, Whithorn, Wigtown)

3 times per year, our regions MSYPs participate in National Sittings which brings all MSYPs together to debate motions, create policy and participate in different committees and campaigns.

For more information on the work of the Scottish Youth Parliament, you can visit: https://syp.org.uk/


If you want to check out what the Youth Council are upto, you can check us out on social media @YouthCouncilDG on Instagram, Twitter, Facebook & YouTube.